Skip to content

{creating} our dream house

February 13, 2013

So, yesterday I made the trip to Ikea. Alone. On purpose. I knew I had quite the list of items to buy, but I didn’t think my 3 1/2 year old would appreciate sitting in the car for three hours, shopping for two, and then back in the car for three. Little did I know it was ‘Kids Eat Free’ Tuesday and that I would be surrounded by cute little preschoolers and their mommies shopping for homegoods. I felt awful that I hadn’t taken the wee man with me. Then to find out they had this awesome playspace in the eating area complete with train table and kitchen, AND a play area downstairs! Who woulda thunk it!? Not me.

Anywho, I had a great trip. I had Swedish meatballs for the first time ever and Lingonberry Tea…mmmmm!  And I found 99% of what I needed, but am missing the table that will complete the back wall, which. . . sucks.  And so here we are – mid-‘remodel’.

The dining room has been painted (Sherwin Williams ‘Repose Gray’) and one of two desk-tables from Ikea has been put together and slapped against the back wall. Griffin’s art corner is nearly finished with all of his paints, markers, stamps, crayons, and stickers having their own home. It’s wonderful.  A Griffin painting (or two or three or four) will likely grace the top (and sides) of the shelf eventually. The dining room table still needs replacing, but my pocketbook needs a vacation after yesterday.

There’s the update!! This weekend we put together the Expedit shelving and put all those wonderful containers into their proper places AND get a new pendant lamp to go over the table! Oh, and hanging curtains. And wall art. Yeesh! There’s still so much to do!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

