Skip to content

What I've Learned: The Line Sheet

February 12, 2013

I created my first line sheet in pure fear and excitement after Kat Von D ordered from me via Etsy for her Wonderland Gallery. I had no idea what I was doing.  Things have definitely come along way, and I wanted to share with you what I learned about creating a line sheet:

  • Don’t post online for regular customers to see – your buyer should contact you for a special line sheet for wholesale (which is why there are no prices on my sample below).
  • Include ALL necessary contact information (email, website, phone number, address) in case buyers want to contact you in a myriad of ways or if they want to snail mail in their order form.
  • Brand it – include your logo as well as your name
  • The content of the line sheet itself should obviously contain your wholesale prices of all the lines you wish to offer – the sample I’ve included shows three ‘lines’ that I’m choosing to wholesale currently – within those three lines are also separations even further. Try to keep it simple, but include all necessary information as well – including measurements of the finished product (if applicable) variations in tone and color, etc.
  • Try and include photos or even line drawings of your work if you can. This allows the buyer to not have to flip back and forth from your catalog to your line sheet.
  • For your terms – make sure to include your order min/max, when payment is due, your lead time, shipping estimations, etc.
  • Simple enough, right? Yeah, I thought so too until I got to the Chicago Market and realized my line sheets had no contact information and my order sheets (post coming later) had no space for Resale ID# OR my contact information. Ugh! Hindsight! Learn from my mistakes!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

