Skip to content

entering a new world

December 10, 2012

I’m about to enter into a whole new world. A world I’ve never once, until now, thought of entering into. A world that is scary-  large –  lonely – and EXPENSIVE! The world of wholesale trade shows.

Let’s back up a minute. How on earth did I get here? What was that step that I hurdled over to arrive in this place, wide eyed and inexperienced as ever? Well, I guess that would be the Renegade Craft Fair in Chicago. This past September, when I was vending out in the middle of Division, surrounded by dear friends, a stranger approached me. She smiled and asked my name. Shook my hand. And gave me her card after asking if I sold wholesale. A resounding “Yes!” is always my answer, but little did I know she meant on a whole other scale than simply just to a store that might be down the block. She meant The Chicago Market.

So, fast forward two months later and I’ve signed on the dotted line(s). I’ve sent in the check(s) and made the hotel reservations. I’ve designed a press kit, and sent it to print. I’ve figured out a display and am in the process of designing a Look Book to accompany me on my trip. There’s still lots to do, but I’d like to think the vast majority of it is at least through the thinking process. I think.  I mean, there’s still much to do– postcards, business cards, order forms, vinyl signage . . .

Anyway – below you’ll find the newest edit of a spread from my Look Book. Tell me what you think, I’d Love to hear your feedback! And if you’ve ever attended a trade show, I’d Love any free advice as well!! I, of course, will post mine once these shenanigans are over with (late January) so stay tuned!

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 10, 2012 12:42 pm

    cool! I like it! can’t wait to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

