Skip to content

they say it's your birthday

October 22, 2012

I’m not generally a ‘birthday’ kinda girl. At least . . . well, not for the past few years. I used to be the ultimate party planner- the girl who spent days (and maxed out credit cards) planning surprise parties for best friends, organizing late night bowling shenanigans, and coordinating costume and painting parties to entertain the masses. And then . . . I had kids. I hate to say it, but damn, kids take up time and effort and money and brain waves that I didn’t even knew I had! And so, my birthdays (along with many other possible parties in our lives) have been put in the back burner for years. Until this year.

This year I decided I wanted to see my friends again, in a happy atmosphere, surrounded by feast and drink and make happy. I wanted to entertain. And I wanted to be entertained. For the very first time ever, there was no theme of game-playing or costume contest, there was no activity of decorating Christmas ornaments or making your own kabobs – it was just . . . dinner with friends. And I couldn’t have possibly been happier.

I am surrounded daily with people from all over this great state who enjoy my company and I enjoy (immensely) theirs. I am lucky enough to call these people friends. I am proud to call these people my friends.

{I am also lucky enough to have a husband who buys me nice handmade things on Etsy that make me smile.}

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

