Skip to content

loss

September 20, 2012

mia beach photography

Fifteen years ago I walked into the dining where my mother was sitting. She was hunched over the table, her shoulders shaking, her hair in wet strands covering her teary eyes. A woman from far far away had been killed in a car accident and my mother was mourning her loss. She did not know her. She had never met her. But it touched my mother in a way that I could never understand until now; until I had my own children and my own life and my own experiences and my own heart to mourn.

Today Bloomington lost a woman– a mother, a wife, a writer, a politician, and a friend. I did not know this woman. Once I had seen her in the children’s department at the library and felt almost as though I was in the presence of a celebrity or a . . . common deity. I listened to her speak. I watched her move. I felt her play with her child and listen to him. I witnessed her interactions with strangers and friends.  I was in awe. And today, just like that, she is gone from this place.

Like my mother mourning the loss of a woman she’d never met . . . I mourn the loss of this woman today. She has a name.  It is Sophia. I mourn for Sophia.  Sophia and her family. Sophia and her little boy who is just a wee bit older than my Griffin . . . I mourn for her friends and her co-workers, her neighbors and acquaintances.  I mourn for her young life and the impact she had on all those that knew her (and didn’t).

I can’t put my finger on why it has touched me so much. Was it her youth . . . her family . . . her Loving personality . . . her soft spoken voice? I don’ t know. I just don’t know. But I do know I feel something I haven’t felt in some time.

Loss.

Take this time to appreciate your family, your friends. Tell them you Love them. Create art today that means something to you. That means Love. Say kind words to strangers. Appreciate the rainy day and the gray skies. Stop and take a moment to breathe. Because you can.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 20, 2012 2:10 pm

    An elderly woman was murdered yesterday, by some juveniles. I don’t know why or what, but it’s also sad. That’s not the way it’s supposed to end. I’m sorry for your loss. I probably don’t know the lady in the neighboring town, either. They haven’t released her name yet.

Leave a Reply

