Skip to content

the fold-over

August 23, 2012

I’ve been so busy these days trying to build up a mountain of stock for this weekend’s show (Columbus ArtFest), next weekend’s show (Bloomington Community Art Fair), and the finale of my trio of back to back shows (Renegade Craft Fair) to get me ready for the Holiday rush, that I’ve totally neglected to update anyone on my progress for making clutches!

If you remember, it wasn’t too long ago when I was having quite the fight with my sewing machine and the making of new clutches. But, I finally resolved the issue. I found that it wasn’t necessarily the tension OR the threading of either the needle or the bobbin – it was of course complete and utter USER ERROR.  (I found that if I didn’t tug and pull at the leather/fabric to ensure a snug seam that in fact, it DID NOT tangle and skip stitches. I also found that if I used the zigzag stitch it even did BETTER!)

So, I moved on from the smaller size wristlet clutches and started on some larger fold over leather clutches! I’m so excited about these in particular because I made one for myself to accompany me to a friend’s bachelorette party this past weekend and i just Loved it! I rarely make anything for myself, but (I’ll admit) I wanted to show off a little. And show off I did. It’s perfect, and I’m excited to share it first with you, then Columbus, next in Bloomington and then big bad Chicago (if there are any left!!).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

