Skip to content

What I've Learned: Is Etsy still the place for me?

August 13, 2012

I think a lot of us are asking that question these days; ‘Is Etsy still the place for me?’ and I really just . . . don’t know the concrete answer to that right now.

On the one hand, I’m not going to look a gift horse in the mouth; Etsy has been great to me! Etsy was where I first started my business before it was even a business. Etsy introduced me to some of the most awesome artists and friends I get to have as part of my life. Etsy showcased my work my first winter in business so often that it gave me the confidence to continue doing what I was doing, and really do it full time. Etsy taught me how to run my business by suggesting I take better pictures, tag my items more carefully, and write in depth fun descriptions about my products. Etsy helped make Conduit Press into Conduit Press. Period.

On the other hand, Etsy has changed. All things change. Get bigger. Better. Bigger. And maybe bigger just isn’t good for everyone? It’s really hard for me (personally) to compete with a business that isn’t run out of a home, that doesn’t have one sole ’employee’, that isn’t really ‘handmade’ in the classic sense of the word. And so, that’s when I start to ask the question . . .

Is Etsy still the place for me?

For now, for me, the answer to this question is simple: yes. It has to be. I’m the sole-proprietor, sole-designer, sole-worker of Conduit Press and a mother to a three year old that’s home (with me) 95% of the time. I don’t really have the time to design my own website, find a new way to set up shop and on and on and on. Etsy makes it easy for me. They might showcase really tough competition (and make changes I don’t necessarily agree with), but at least they showcase me too . . . for now.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2012 8:06 am

    I’m not so sure about Etsy anymore either. I never really did a LOT of business on there, but it’s like I can’t sell ANYTHING anymore. =

    Have you tried Zibbet? It didn’t work for me as far as sales, but it’s free and easy to import Etsy listings, so might be worth a try. =]

  2. admin permalink*
    August 14, 2012 11:37 pm

    I’ve not tried Zibbet…or anywhere actually because..well, it’s difficult for me because I’d have to list different/separate things each place since everything I make is completely OOAK…it makes it hard to have a second online marketplace. Which, is why I’ll stay with Etsy and hope they just smooth out the wrinkles after awhile. I posted something yesterday, and it still has only one view – which is SO unusual for me. I don’t know, I have to believe it will change for the better along with the worse;)

Leave a Reply

