Skip to content

on waking up to words…

June 29, 2012

earlier this week, i woke up in the morning and found quotes from e.e. cummings (my favorite poet) spread throughout the house– typed up and tacked on the cabinet that holds harper’s cheerios, inside the refrigerator, on the bathroom mirror.  essentially every place that i visit when i first wander out of bed in the morning was graced with a quote that made me swell with emotion.  (p.s. my husband is pretty awesome. :))  i wanted to share some of those here and what they mean(t) to me…

“we do not believe in ourselves until someone reveals that deep inside us something is valuable, worth listening to, worthy of our trust, sacred to our touch.  once we believe in ourselves we can risk curiosity, wonder, spontaneous delight or any experience that reveals the human spirit.”

“trust your heart if the seas catch fire, live by Love though the stars walk backwards.”

these words, to me, are in the same realm of thought… both of these quotations take me to a place where i feel i am often.  i tend to feel caught up in my own head; wondering if i am making the right choices; doubting myself and then wondering some more.  these words remind me to trust my instincts more often and attempt to be less indecisive– to go with my gut, if you will.  that indecisive nature i have leads me, many times, to feel unsure of myself, to doubt who i am at the core of my being.  fortunately, i have wonderful friends and family that remind me all of the time that who i am is a unique person and i am valuable in their lives.  i believe in myself because the people around me believe in me and fill me with Love.  i am fortunate and i am a better person because of the people i know and surround myself with.

out of all the amazing quotes that jason placed around the house, this one was my favorite:

“unless you Love someone, nothing else makes sense.”

i think that is self-explanatory.  and i totally get it…

i am such a lucky lady. ❤

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 3, 2012 12:13 am

    Very interesting post and beautiful quotes! I am very similar, I go through horrible self doubt, much more than I would like. Thank you for your encouraging words, I will be able to use this lesson in my life as well!

Leave a Reply

