Skip to content

on our anniversary…

April 20, 2012

i don’t tend to spend much time on this blog writing about my partner, jason, but today i am going to do just that.  two years ago today we first met and that is essentially when our relationship began.  so, today is our anniversary and i want to spend some time writing about how awesome he is and how he is my best friend; my complementary angle; my strong pal.  i had never in my life met someone like jason.  he, in many ways, is my male reflection.  we both Love to write (though her prefers fiction and my medium is poetry), we both enjoy listening to music (more of our parent’s generation than our own), and we both have a strong affinity for books (if you have ever visited our home that would be clear, with the ridiculous amounts of bookshelves stuffed to the brims).  not to say we live a life together that is free of disagreement, but we agree on the important things.  he listens to me when i have things to say and i truly feel heard.  he is willing to compromise in situations that require such.  he is respectful, and genuine, and overflowing with kindness.  jason’s authenticity and gentle nature are the things that were most striking to me, and continue to be traits that make me Love him.  he is simple and sweet and lets me know each day that there is nothing he would rather do than make me happy.

only a few months after we met, did i learn that i was pregnant and he has been nothing but supportive from that very first day.  he has been to doctor’s visits with me, he was by my side during and after the birth of our daughter, and his calm, cool, nurturing attitude toward harper is something i aspire to have, as well.  seeing jason with our daughter makes me swell inside with gratitude– i feel so fortunate to have a man in my life that not only Loves me to infinity, but who also lavishes attention on our child– letting her know she is special, important, and, most of all, Loved.  i feel so blessed to have such a wonderful little family and i feel like, for once in my life, i truly know something… i met my match in him and i was meant to be the mother of his children.  and what i know is that this place, with jason and harper, is where i belong.  most simply, this is my home.

so, today, two years after first meeting, through all these days and nights together, i feel satisfied.  i feel honored that he is willing to put up with my shit every day (and my shit, i assure you, can be exhausting).  i feel blessed to have made a home with him (no matter how modest).  i feel grateful that he cares for me and our daughter with all of the energy he has inside him.  i feel happy beyond belief.  my Love for him is without bounds.  i could go on and on for far too long about all the wonderful things this human being is and all the amazingly wonderful things he does, but i will wrap it up without too much more gooey-ness.  today, most of all, i feel elated to tell all of you readers that i am the luckiest girl in the world.  today, in a ceremony at the courthouse, as simple in nature as both of us, i became his wife.  and i am looking forward to all the things this means.  i am looking forward to a life that will grow and bloom and be deeply rooted in Love, and admiration, and family, and exciting days, and quiet nights, and on and on and on… today, on our anniversary, we got married, and i am full of hope and happiness and everything good.  today is another beginning.  today i became jason’s wife.  and it feels really, really awesome.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. evie permalink
    April 20, 2012 4:36 pm

    Oh Lydia! How absolutely wonderful! I got goosebumps reading this and am so happy for all 3 of you…but especially for you! You got MARRIED!!! I love it! We will have to throw you a shower when you come to visit! I am so glad that your life is good. You deserve that happiness! Love you so much!!
    Good job, girl!

  2. April 22, 2012 2:09 am

    Lydia! And Jason! I hardly know where to start. For starters, congratulations!!! I am so excited for you and the wonderful future ahead for you both and little Harper. Marriage is the most wonderful thing in the world. It can be the most frustrating, but the hardest things in life are often the most rewarding. The most important thing is to never give up on each other, and always speak and act in love. And if you’re unsure if something is okay with your partner or not, think how you would feel if the decision were theirs. I always find that makes any gray area very clear for me. I’m no relationship expert by any means, but that is the best advice I can give you from my seven years with Dan (and for most of two of those years we’ve been married <3). The other thing that moved me to respond to this is Lydia! Your writing is (as always) so amazing here. Thanks for sharing such an honest and moving piece with all of us. I feel lucky to be able to call such a talented writer my friend! You brought tears to my eyes and tomorrow I plan to ask my husband to read this as well and I wouldn't be surprised if he didn't cry a little bit too. Shhhh…..but that's one of the reasons I love him. Real men aren't afraid to show their vulnerable side. It sounds like you have found true happiness and I am so happy for you both. Best wishes for a lifetime of love together, your little family is beautiful. ❤ Love always!

Leave a Reply

