Skip to content

Bloomington Handmade Market – next week!

March 31, 2012

In one week I will be here! Selling my wares from a bit of a new set-up at the Bloomington Convention Center for the very first time this year. The first show of the year seems to always be a doozy for me – getting back in the swing of things – repacking all your gear – figuring out what you need for an indoor show vs an outdoor show and making sure all the inventory you’ve made since the holiday season is tagged and documented. Woah! It’s a LOT of work. But, this year, I’m READY for it! See, I’ve reluctantly scheduled a mini-second-spring vacation for the week prior to BHM this year and so, I had to have everything ready by today (a week out!) and  . . . well, that’s just hard work!

I’m not sure anyone quite understands it like us crafters/artists. While I’m in full control of my output and am pretty good with time management, getting ready for a show a week out is quite the feat. Especially, like I said, the first one of the year! But I’ve done it. The crates are packed, the books are priced, the tables are wiped down and the (new) shelves are put together. Of course, there always has to be a hitch – I’m missing/lost my Square reader, so here’s hoping a new one comes in the mail in the next week or I’ll be entering credit cards by hand, and we all know how fun that will be!

So – I hope you all have a wonderful week! I’ll be enjoying some much needed extended family time with the little man next week and will try and check back in here as much as I can (at least with pictures) and hope to see as many of you as possible at the Market next weekend!

{Until then, if you’re not already signed up, sign up for the (what’s becoming) quarterly newsletter here to hear about upcoming events, specials and new releases!}

One Comment leave one →
  1. March 31, 2012 1:21 pm

    Good for you – my first show was last weekend and I didn’t have nearly the stock I wanted to have, managed to forget my business cards (so everyone got the care cards I usually include with purchases…) and I’m sure there was something else….

    As for the square reader – if it doesn’t show up, head to Target, they carry them. I think it’ll set you back around $10, but that’s still better than hand processing or missing out on sales.

    Have a sweet vacation!!

Leave a Reply

