Skip to content

Book Fairy House

March 24, 2012

Ever since I can remember I’ve been obsessed with fairies. Cliche, I know, but true. And I’ll own it. My grandmother had the CUTEST little miniature accordion book filled with Flower Fairies by Cicely Mary Barker and while I (sadly) lost that book years ago they’ve never left my thoughts. In fact, I bought a set of 4 miniature books by the same artist/author a few years back hoping it would be the same book, but it was not. While cleaning out my grandparent’s home years ago I also found a tiny little metal chap-stick container with a flower fairy on top and I cherish it more than you know. They’re just so sweet. So special. So gentle and Lovely and something in a fairy just melts your heart. They’re baby fairies it seems.

Anyway. I moved on from the flower fairies into the fairies of Brian Froud as a teenager. He created not only fairies, but also trolls and gnomes and all sorts of mystical magical creatures. They definitely have a different feel to them than the flower fairies of my youth. But the beauty is still inherent. Somewhere between those pointy ears and those withering wings lies an innocence I think we all cling to sometimes.

And so, with those little fairies in mind, I created a Book Fairy House. I imagine book fairies to be of a different variety than either of these creatures. I imagine them to be fully clothed in khaki capri pants and sporting thick rimmed glasses. I imagine them to always have their nose in a book, walking straight into walls because they’re not looking. I imagine their hair to be pixie cut and either dyed black or dishwater blonde. I don’t know why. That’s just what I imagine. Perhaps I need an illustrator to create this creature for me. I’ve created a house for them to live in until they’re brought to life on pen and paper someday.

{Inside you’ll find a sparse chair sitting behind a simple desk covered in books of course}

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2012 3:47 pm

    Talia- this is my favorite thing you have ever made! So dreamy…just looking in that door I get lost in that little bookworm fairy’s world! I can’t wait to see it in person! 🙂

  2. March 30, 2012 8:36 am

    That is the best thing ever! I saw a pic of it on Facebook, but missed this post (I’m so behind on my blog list!) I really, REALLY love the little chair and table with pile of books. I want to live there!

    I too was obsessed with fairies as a teen, and still own two Brian Froud books. Once I discovered he was also the art designer for characters in the Dark Crystal and Labyrinth, I was pretty well obsessed with him too:)

Leave a Reply

