Skip to content

on an original…

March 2, 2012

i promised myself that in 2012, among other things, i would share more of my own pieces of writing here.  it makes me extremely anxious to do so, but most of life makes me extremely anxious, so, hey– why not start today?  what i do know is that i Love to write poems (even though most don’t have titles, because i am not very good at the title thing), and i hope that, if nothing else, you readers might enjoy them on occasion.  be kind…

1.

my blood pressure is rising.
it keeps climbing (upupupupup) and
i feel my cheeks flush pink.
you’re underfoot.  you’re there.
(you want me, need me, Love me–
always, always, always there).
i am head over heels
(i just can’t get right-side-up).
my equilibrium ebbed long ago.

2.

your small, saliva-sticky hand
finds its way to the space
between my breasts.  you search
(clamoring for calm; cozying to comfort)
for the feel of the thud
of my heartbeat.
you seem soothed (head on
my shoulder; elbow-deep in
the v-neck of my tee).
my heart races.  we can feel it.
(backdrop; bass drum;
boomboomboom).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2012 1:23 pm

    superb. i really miss reading your poetry. i’ve tried over and over and OVER again to write about Griffin- to write about his beauty, his cuteness, his just . . . everything, and i never can. i just never can find the words. i Love this. you found the words. for sure. 😉 (but you’re kinda stealing my obsession with parenthesis -hehe)

    • lydia permalink
      March 2, 2012 2:06 pm

      thank you so much, talia. now that is up there i kinda think i should change it some. the first part was supposed to come off as more of the frustration of motherhood, while the second part was supposed to show the serene. but, i don’t think that is obvious in my tone and i don’t know if it matters or hurts or helps the poem… but, well, it is up there now, so, i guess i am not editing it (yet). as for the parentheses, i, too, have been obsessed for quite some time, but this poem is kinda heavy with them. oooh, now i’m thinking maybe i should eliminate some of the parentheses. ugh! this is why i don’t write poems because then i end up second-guessing and changing them forever. i guess i am just never done editing. thank you, though, i am so glad you liked it. 🙂

  2. March 3, 2012 4:29 pm

    Great job Lydia, you are such a talented poet!!! So glad you’re writing again, and that I’m creating art again!

  3. Lauri permalink
    March 11, 2012 12:02 am

    It’s beautiful, Lydia. I totally got the frustration part. I love the parentheses. I think it is great, no editing needed. I think “small, saliva-sticky hand” is my favorite part. I hate touching children’s hands 🙂

Leave a Reply

