Skip to content

poetry

February 27, 2012

i don’t often write a lot of poetry- at least not here. And even for my class I’ve been sticking with the non-fiction memoir instead of choosing poetry, but so much of me wants to write poetry…and so, today I wrote a little. The assignment was to write a visual portrait. Work in progress. . .

self portrait at 32

five foot infinity my shadow
lies, even in the sun round
curvaceous and substantial-
ly planted on the ground rooted
in liberality mixed with rational-
ity clothed in mourning colors topped
with spikey hair

candidly in the sun
light i will smile at
strangers for smiling
at me at a market
selling books under a
tent filled with nostalgia and
time

a ring pierces my
lip, encircles it in silver
circles that bring stares
from strangers and sometimes
old people from another
time freezes and pauses
and plays again until i
am understood

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2012 12:24 pm

    I Love this Talia! I would enjoy reading your poetry on a regular basis!

Leave a Reply

