Skip to content

on writing…

January 20, 2012

while i do write here each week and have been doing so for months now, i admit that writing tends to fall by the wayside for me in my daily life.  i consider myself a writer; i always have, but i will be honest when i say that in the past few years (and by “few,” i mean, “five or so”) the frequency in which i write and edit my work has gone incredibly downhill.  however, getting pregnant caused me to begin a journal/ sketchbook for harper and being sleep-deprived while raising her has given me new inspirations.  i have been writing much more often than i imagined i would in the past year or so and i have been relatively proud of the few finished versions of poems that have been edited and re-edited (and edited again). this year, one of my goals as a writer is to expand my horizon– write things that challenge me, write when i don’t necessarily feel like it, write a little, write a lot.  i want to just write more often, in general.  i Love putting words together and i enjoy the feeling that expressing emotion on paper gives me.  i like the way writing makes me feel and i want to share that with you readers a little more often.

that being said, in an effort to vary the topics which i write about here, each month i intend to share with you a piece of writing that i Love or a piece of poetry that i have written.  while i am not quite ready to share my personal work with you readers yet, i wanted to share one of my favorite poems from one of my favorite writers in the world…

VII

who knows if the moon’s
a balloon,coming out of a keen city
in the sky–filled with pretty people?
(and if you and i should

get into it,if they
should take me and take you into their balloon,
why then
we’d go up higher with all the pretty people

than houses and steeples and clouds:
go sailing
away and away sailing into a keen
city which nobody’s ever visited,where

always
it’s
Spring)and everyone’s
in love and flowers pick themselves

–e.e. cummings

there are so many reasons i Love e.e. cummings.  he is sweet and sarcastic in his writing and his poems are often concise.  i Love the way he played with the boundaries of language and punctuation and capitalization and line breaks and all of the rules.  in the early to mid-1900’s it was unheard of, the things he was doing when he wrote those poems.  no one had really explored the ways around a poem like he did.  his work was (what some might say) groundbreaking back then, and even today i look through his complete poems and am hard pressed to find one that doesn’t move me in one way or another.  i am inspired by cummings and always have been.  i Love his style.  i Love the way he has the ability to make poems flow (even when they jump around the page).  i Love the way he expresses his own personality through the way in which he manages language and syntax.  i Love how much fun his poems are and how much thoughtfulness resides therein.

i am honest with myself that my writing is by no means comparable that of e.e. cummings.  for starters, he, as well as his work, is widely known.  however, he has definitely affected my writing style and the way i think about words and language and how i can make them exist together on the page.  i relate to his whimsy and his seriousness.  i relate to the idea that it can all be tangled up in the midst of one thought.  he inspires me every time i write a poem to make it as much of myself as i possibly can.  he inspires me to be relate-able.  and that is really what writing is all about, i think– just giving of yourself and hoping someone else out there can acknowledge that they feel even a little bit the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

