Skip to content

Paper Crane

October 22, 2011

Just past the hustle and bustle of downtown Bloomington and Kirkwood Ave you’ll find a little side street (called Madison) and a building on a corner shuffled behind a large red sculpture, catty corner from what once used to be Encore Cafe that is now Bloomingfoods, near West Side. Inside this building you’ll find amazing artists, glass-blowers, an entire print-making shop, a gallery, a store, and many many more interesting things. Inside this building lies the Paper Crane Gallery and Studio and what is now known as The Bloomington Print Collective.

It is in this little store that I spent my first three (of many) volunteer hours this morning sitting behind a tall desk tearing, scoring, and folding paper and thinking of all the great things this store is,  could be, and will be, and I will help it to be. I sat in Paper Crane Handmade Store this morning being inspired by the art that was around me – getting up every now and again to re-arrange a paper cupcake forged by the hands of Ohio Paper Artist Jessica Wolf of Paper Acorn, or re-tying a tie screen-printed in technicolor steam-punk designs by local artist Sandy Baker of Mythdemeanor. I sat back and took in my surroundings, breathing in the amazing illustrations of Sally Harless of Sadly Harmless and Katie Vernon of Katie Vernon Illustrations. Their colors are flawless and imaginative and something I always strive for in my work. I am awed by Mia Beach’s photographic genius and so excited to attend my very first First Friday event in November when she has her Gallery Opening at Paper Crane Gallery featuring her Bit Parts series which is both captivating and exhilarating using the juxtaposition of vintage images and words in way that I’ve never seen done before. And the funny thing is, or the awesome thing actually, is that not only are these amazing artists local and represented at Paper Crane, but they’re my friends and they’re wonderful, amazing, friendly people that I am so honored to know.

But you know, I could go on forever. I could go on forever about how excited I am for this next venture in my life, about helping Paper Crane to become what it’s destined to be and about my unofficial official title as Co-Coordinator of the Handmade Store at PC. I could, but I won’t. At least, not until next time, when I start to feature some of the amazing artists and their work both here and at the PC blog.

Until then . .. be inspired.

Leave a Reply

