Skip to content

What I've Learned: Who am I?

October 18, 2011

I am a mother, a wife, a creator, a crafter, an artist in my own right and me. I am a woman, a daughter, a sister, an aunt, a girl and a kid wrapped in one. I am me. I am questioning loyalties, economies, and frailties on this rainy day in October wishing that yesterday I did not turn 32 and tomorrow I won’t just be one more day older. I am my business and my schooling, my education and reading. I am a tree in the wind that breaks when it gets too rough, bending until the very last minute and then CRACK! I am a bookmaker. I am a book, an open book. I am telling too much while nobody is listening and I am saying too little when they are. I am thanking the artists around me (ani) for the inspiration to continue creating when the muse stops whispering in my ear or when the baby gives me a second to think. I am a mother, and I said that already, but it means so much. I am sad and I am happy, I am content and sometimes I’m not. I am a woman’s prerogative to change her mind, and I do so often. I am a friend. I am a damned good friend. I am the girl who doesn’t drink coffee and has never smoked a thing in her life and yet I still get the sideways looks from mothers in my ‘group’ and that just has to be ok. I am dyed and pierced and evidently scary and stare-worthy to some and that just has to be ok. I am a mother. I am me. I am black spiky hair (for now) with graying roots. I am new tribal earrings I adore. I am the smell of fall and the sound of crunching leaves. I am a Libra, if you hadn’t noticed. And I am. Really, I am. I am vintage meets modern (or so i like to think) and I am hippy meets goth (or so I was told) and in the end I’ve decided that is just me. I am tribal. I am both soft and rough around the edges and I am hard work that will pay off in the end. I am a mother. I am a wife. I am a daughter. I am a sister. I am a friend. I am awesome at all of these jobs – and I am an artist. I am talia.

nice to meet you

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2011 11:39 pm

    You are a badass. ❤

  2. October 21, 2011 9:02 am

    I’m glad I know you 🙂

Leave a Reply

