Skip to content

Grace and Truth

October 6, 2011

This week was book week in the CP household – meaning, this Tuesday was free/discard day at the annual Book Sale and we took well advantage of it! I met a couple of friends there that brought along a WAGON to help me carry my finds to the van, which we filled to the brim! It was so exciting and so much fun to have a friend there to help me pick out great vintage finds.

Speaking of vintage finds. Near the end of my trek (from 9-12) I came upon a half dozen tables in the back of the warehouse with boxes of books that I hadn’t  yet set my eyes upon. The rest of the books in the warehouse had been organized by type (health, sports, fiction, mystery) but these were just all in the back in no order. I found THE MOST AMAZING books on these last half dozen tables that I nearly started crying! I found a great copy of Gray’s Anatomy (which I wasn’t even aware was a book!) that will make for a great lamp someday and I found the books above- Grace and Truth. I don’t know what it is about that book, but I nearly started crying right then and that at just how beautiful it was. It’s not the title, or the content. At least not altogether. It’s the shape, the way it fits and feels in my hand, the way it smells, its heft. Its color combination and the type on the cover. It’s just everything that made this book amazing to me – which I know is CRAZY b/c absolutely no one else that I’ve shown this book to has had the same reaction.

I also found this copy of When You Marry with a cute little illustration of a bride and groom that is just too damned cute. It will make for a great hollow book- clock? safe? heart? I’m not sure yet. But, I’m thinking clock because i Love the cover. But anyway, I just wanted to share with you a couple of my finds and how crazy I am about beautiful vintage books. I only wish to lengthen their lives and make them a part of your life for longer than they were the first time;)

Don’t forget, this weekend Conduit Press will be at the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange Fall Mini at the Harrison Center for the Arts (Friday night from 5p-9p) and then on Saturday morning we’ll be at the Bloomington Famer’s Market for A Fair of the Arts (Saturday morn from 9a-1p).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

