Skip to content

Holiday Boot Camp – Week One, Day Two/Three

September 25, 2011

Just to reiterate – I’m taking part in Etsy’s Holiday Boot Camp through their Etsy Success Newsletter and documenting the whole thing because that’s the only way I know to stay on task! 🙂 So, to remind us, week one’s goals:

  • Read A Flying Start on Etsy’s Blog (DONE!)
  • Fill out the Holiday Budget Worksheet

Eh. I fill less than comfortable filling this budget worksheet out. I’m not sure what it will do for me. I’m just not one for numbers and number crunching . . . I’ll take a look at it again later in the week and see if it speaks to me anymore.

  • Print out your Camp Calendar Stickers

I don’t have label paper write now, so I’ll just start markering up the calendar with Crayola markers this weekend!

  • Find a Holiday Boot Camp buddy

You’re with me, right Megan!?

  • Share your personal holiday goals

Ok, so this is the big one. Let’s think about goals.

  1. Make listings for shipping upgrades sooner rather than later.
  2. Set a SOLID ‘must place custom order by’ date and make it VERY visible. Learn to say ‘No’ when you have to.
  3. Order supplies ahead of time – including shipping supplies.
  4. When a new item is made- photograph, add to inventory, price/label, and LIST.
  5. Keep at least 100 items in shop at all times
  6. Keep consignment and wholesale shops outside of Etsy happy and full of stock!
  7. Ship immediately and continue to provide stellar customer service
  8. 200 Sales throughout the next 3 months
  9. Dont’ get overwhelmed; relax, rejuvenate, rest.
  • Get familiar with Etsy’s Search Ads

When it comes to paid advertising I’m never a huge fan. There’s a lot of information out there about how it works and why it works, but really, ugh. So, when Etsy released their new Search Ads I wasn’t too surprised, or excited. Many people, however, were, and I’m sure they’ve made a TON of money already (Etsy that is). Nonetheless, here’s an interesting read on what some have to say about it.

And that’s my week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 25, 2011 1:24 pm

    I’m with you!

    So how do you make shipping upgrades Etsy legal if you already wrap your packages?

    And last year after my order cutoff I kept my most popular items as certificates with the item to ship upon completion. Sales to last minute shoppers the week before Christmas were awesome.

Leave a Reply

