Skip to content

Custom Work – Baudolino Book Clutch

August 5, 2011

I’ve been working on a few custom orders for . . . well, weeks now. I Love custom orders and (don’t quote me on this) I’m pretty sure I’ll never stop taking (at least some of) them because they challenge me in ways that I don’t challenge myself. When a customer wants a specific thing it allows me to go outside my comfort zone and try something I’ve not done before, which I appreciated.

In this case, a customer wanted a custom book clutch made from Umberto Eco’s Baudolino. The challenge: include the dust jacket. I’ve never created a book clutch before where in incorporated the dust jacket into the design- mostly because the books I use are so old and used that the dust jacket is way past its prime. But, in this instance, the customer provided the book (with dust jacket) in brand spankin’ new condition and it was a joy to create. So behold:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

