Skip to content

Handicraft & Crafty Friends

June 13, 2011

INDIEana Handicraft Exchange : Summer 2011 : This past weekend was the most awesome-est show of the summer: the INDIEana Handicraft Exchange in Indianapolis. Last year was my very first IHE event and I was impressed from start to finish and this event was no different.

Though I was alone for this show (set-up, tear down, duration) I was surrounded by Lovely artisans from as far away as Memphis and France! Great friends came to visit me and bring me food (thank you thank you thank you! Megan of Spice of Life Designs) and help me load up my too big too handle container at the end of the day (Kristin of Retro Cafe Art Gallery)! Martha of Sunday Afternoon Housewife came to visit on a small break as did my dear friend Elizabeth of Curly Pigtails (both of which were featured in this great NUVO article!) To top that, this sweet young girl, Tara, who interviewed me for this amazing article in a local magazine came to chat and visit and that was just such a pleasant surprise. I’ve made so many great friends thank to this business of art and craft it’s an unbelievable journey.

So, since I wasn’t able to peruse much this show-round I’ll feature a couple of gorgeous and adorable items that I was able to see from my oh-so-comfortable director’s chair in my booth:)

The first is this penguin!! I spotted this ADORABLE penguin from my neighbor Mr. Sogs Creatures and immediately wanted it for my own!! She also had super-cute elephants, platypuses, bunnies and monsters!

Anne from Oceanne was set up just across from me and we had a nice little conversation about our babes in arms and craft-show goodness. She had some beautiful and amazing work in her boutique display; her feathers and turquoise are by far my favorite.

And last but not least, Saul from The Bare Tree. I met Saul last year at this very same event and then we met again in St. Louis. Just an all-around nice guy whose brother just happens to look just like him;) Anyway, from my booth this year I could only see a messenger bag with his bare tree image on it and I coveted from afar. He doesn’t currently have one listed in his shop so I’ll share this awesome scarf with the design. You know me: obsession with bare trees much.

So, that’s it for now. I had a wonderful time at the show, met some great people, got to hang out with awesome folks, was able to listen to some cool music and ate a pretty rad pork tenderloin thanks to Shan’s (from Green Illuminations) suggestion. It’s been a pretty long ride to get here and I’m pretty damn happy with where I am. We’re taking a summer break from shows (until July) and we’ll be heading up to Michigan to partake in some cool summer air and lake water. Hope to see you all again soon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2011 1:56 pm

    I’m so glad you came to the exchange, so I could get to know your awesome work! I just want to Homespun in Irvington and picked up another one or your journals. Love them!

    • admin permalink*
      June 26, 2011 11:22 pm

      yay! That’s so good to hear!! i Love when my books get good mommies and daddies;)

Leave a Reply

