Skip to content

It's just cathartic for me

May 23, 2011

This week has just been . . . well, not bad. Just, unproductive. My in-laws have been here for awhile now and things around the house have just been off schedule to say the least and I’ve not being doing anything that I need to be doing. I’ve been napping with Griffin, going to bed with him at night, and thus spending my days celebrating birthdays and folding laundry. That’s not to say those things didn’t need to get done, it’s just . . . I found myself in a rut because of it.

Today I sat down at the table to cut some leather. I have a show coming up in a few weeks (you know, a little thing called the Indieana Handicraft Exchange *i’m being sarcastic, it’s not little*) and I need to prepare. I have a list of things that need to get done:

  • cards
  • vintage notebooks
  • leather refill notebooks
  • purses
  • iPad & Kindle hollow books
  • a new line of succulent hollow books

Doesn’t sound like too much right? Well, already I can mark two of those things off the list- I actually did finish them during my unproductive week.  But still, I’ve felt like I’ve gotten nothing done. Like I was saying. So, today when I sat down to start #3, I could actually feel a smile crossing my face. As my rotary cutter made its way through the thick red leather and I thought about what design would be affixing itself to the cover, I felt life breathed into my body at that exact moment.

I haven’t smiled a lot in the past few days. Between this that and the other thing, it’s just been stressful. And today, I realized, not for the first time, creating makes me happy. Not working. I don’t ‘work’. I create. And today, as I sit at my dining room table while the baby naps alone upstairs, I’m smiling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

