Skip to content

BHM wrap-up

April 5, 2011

So, my last post was all about getting ready for the BHM and getting YOU to go there, and this one will be all about just how AWESOME the show was! Yes yes yes indeed.

So, yeah, the show was great. It was a beautiful day in Bloomington and though the traffic kept the hubs from getting the babe home in time for his nap thanks to the IU mini-marathon, all went pretty darn well. Oh, and I was sick as a dog and couldn’t hear, smell, or taste anything. But, it was still great.

This show was the first I got to use all my new set up props/shelves. I was super excited and super nervous to bust them out, but they worked great and I got a really good response from them! Thanks to the dad for working those out the week I was home!!

But enough about me. The other vendors at BHM were pretty rad too! I didn’t have ANY time to go about and see most of them, but from the confines of my own pretty corner booth (and from passers-by carrying what they purchased) I was able to see some awesomely cool things that will be on my wish list soon!

This Cordial Critter from Cordial Kitten is one of my FAVORITES!! I Love her new BUG line as well, but this little owl caught my heart. If Griffin liked stuffies in the least I would have bought one of each. But he doesn’t, which makes mama sad. Candice also has these most awesome new embroidered pendants and one of the best new displays I’ve ever seen!! Kinda jealous actually!
I stared at this little fella across the way for most of my day actually- he’s from Pink Cheeks Studio and all of their stuffies/pillows are simply to die for! After the show our little guy and their little one played by the window while we broke down shop. These sewn pieces of art are SO detailed and gorgeous a picture can’t even do it justice. My friend found a super hero girl pillow that caught her eye for her little girl and I’m sure she wasn’t the only one.

Owlette Collective was also just across the aisle from me and my darling neighbor did a little trade with them for one of these cuter than cute little bonnets! Seriously. Darling! Their set-up was also amazingly cute and fit right in with their aesthetic which is something I’m always striving/fighting with. Their use of vintage fabric and their designs just merge and create great great great items.

I also kept seeing these camels riding around in strollers and they sold out pretty early on in the day (from The Wind and The Sail). All of the items from this shop are so natural and beautiful looking- last winter I spotted their booth too late as well, you’d think I’d learn my lesson!. So, obviously I was a little preoccupied with the cute baby stuff that I was seeing throughout the day. I guess that’s what happens when you have a 20 month old that takes up your life:)

But, the last thing I will share with you is the super cool amazing work of Mary Uthuppuru of Spring Leaf Press. Mary and I were in the same Creating Artist’s Books class back in the day and though we’ve both gone our separate ways into the art of book-making we converge in the Love of it all. Her work is stunningly beautiful and amazing and you should check it out;)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2011 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the feedback on the displays! I really loved them too, however they did not showcase my prints like I had imagined. Back to the drawing board! Glad it was a good show for you!

    • admin permalink*
      April 8, 2011 2:10 am

      Candice- you’re displays were AWESOME! I do understand, however, about them not properly showcasing your prints;( You’ll figure it out though! They did a great job of showcasing everything else for sure!

Leave a Reply

