Skip to content

Book Clutch!!

February 25, 2011

So, I’ve been talking about this ‘new work’/new line/new idea thing for quite some time. If not here, then on Facebook, or Twitter, or, you know, that thing called ‘real life’. And, for a lot of that time I was just blowing steam. Not that I wasn’t really working on this new idea, it’s just, well, mostly I was thinking about it. For a REALLY long time. I would lie awake at night, listening to the fan blow and the baby sleep next to me and think, ‘how can I line a hollow book with fabric without overlayering and keeping it neat?’ and ‘what can I use to keep a book closed if I want to make it into a purse?’ and really, I would just think and think and think, and finally, last night, I got tired of thinking and just DID!

I’d already had the book(s) cut (I have three ready and willing to be turned into clutches) and the fabric purchased- all that was left was to line the books with said fabric, figure out how to make the side-panels and pocket and then, well, deal with the closure. So, I got to work. It wasn’t nearly as hard as I’d worked it up to be in my mind. Though, still time consuming and challenging- well worth it though in the end.

First I glued the inside of the book together, just as I do my regular hollow books, and then lined the inside bottom of the book with a bit of felt for cushion. Then I cut a piece of fabric large enough to line the body and two sides of the book with a hem. Cut two sides as well. Adhered these to the book and press. Oh, and in the meantime attached a pocket to the main body piece of fabric. After that it was time to work on the side-panels, which were definitely a challenge for a non-sewer like myself. But, I found this tutorial online awhile back and though my book clutch is rather different, I was able to garner some insight. Then I attached the magnets as closures (still looking for an alternative) and voila! Book Clutch!

I’ll admit- I totally was inspired by the Lolita clutch Natalie Portman was sporting at the Black Swan opening by Olympia Le-Tan (her book clutches, however, are not real books and are completely hand-embroidered amazingly beautiful and about $2,000). I mean, who wouldn’t be? I make hollow books. This was just a project begging for me to put my spin on it. And I did.

What do you think?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2011 9:55 pm

    I love it! Will you have these in your shop soon? My sister has a birthday coming up in May πŸ™‚

  2. April 15, 2011 11:54 am

    These look amazing and well done!

  3. Sara permalink
    May 22, 2011 1:22 am

    These look awesome! Do you just use super glue to attatch the magnets? πŸ™‚

  4. Valerie permalink
    March 17, 2012 1:09 pm

    These are adorable!! I actually hollowed out a book quite a few years ago to save some of my children’s little toy “chotchkies” from their younger years! Just curious as a comparison, what did you use to seal/glue the pages together inside the book, before you put the fabric in?? Way back when, I just used regular white tacky craft glue…..any insight on new products would be great!

Leave a Reply

