Skip to content

New Site & Book Art

February 3, 2011

So, now that I have this new site- my new domain- MINE ALL MINE- I somehow find it more difficult to blog. Funny that. I wanted to write yesterday about this amazing book artist I stumbled upon on Flickr, but I couldn’t link the image and so I quickly gave up. I don’t have time to mess with non-working links or simply saving the image to my desktop and uploading it myself- I just didn’t post. Well, that’s not ok is it?

So, this is what I wanting to share:

 height=200Isaac Salazar calls his works “book origami” and says

I see my work as a way to display a meaningful piece of art onto a book that would otherwise sit on a shelf and collect dust; it’s also my way of recycling a book that might otherwise end up in a landfill… If my work also makes people look at a book and even art in a new light then the piece has done its job.

You can see many more on his flickr page.

I first saw an image similar to this . . . I believe on someone’s FB status actually. And honestly, I thought it was digital art. I couldn’t imagine it being REAL. And lo and behold, when I was perusing through my Google Reader the other day I found an entry on a book blog that I read (Green Chair Press) referring to his work. And I realized then, it is real. It’s amazing if you think about it. The amount of work it must take, the precision, the patience, the measurement and design. It really is gorgeous. I Love when artists take old things that are well past their prime and make something gorgeous and even useful out of them. I wonder if the books stay open on their own now due to the folding of the paper . . . if you could close them like an accordion and open them to spread the words out  . . . I wonder.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

