Skip to content

Glue

January 11, 2011

I hate glue. This is no surprise to the people that know me, or have lived with me, or live with me now. I get it EVERYWHERE. No matter how hard I try, it just ends up everywhere, except where it’s supposed to be. This hatred of glue is exactly why I started making long stitch leather covered journals as opposed to coptic stitch hard covers. They require NO glue!

Then I got the bright idea to start making hollow books, and they’ve been a hit, and I Love making them because they’re versatile in a way I’ve never thought possible. But, do you know how MUCH DAMNED GLUE they use? Seriously.

Anyway, using glue on hollow books is a necessary evil that I accept. It’s no big deal if I get it everywhere because it’s easy to clean it up off these books. No biggie. However, I’ve taken to finishing a large batch of baby books I began, oh, 3 months ago, and using glue on these books is not exactly forgiving.

I use PVA, before anyone starts to tell me not to use ‘glue’, I just say glue because it’s easier. PVA is archival, white, clear, all that good stuff. Anywho, gluing the fronts of the covers of these books is no big deal. Easy enough. Take two boards and cover them. Then, attaching the book cloth spine. Got it. No problem. (I’ll work on posting pictures later). The problem arises when I then have to cover the back of the covers. That’s what I lose it. Glue starts drying before I get half the paper on, the paper is crooked. I have air bubbles that my bone folder left behind and without a doubt, without fail, somewhere I’ve missed a spot in the middle of the cover and it just sits there, not glued and me not being able to get to it. Agh. These books are the bane of my existence.

And yet, I continue to make them. Why? Because, omigoodness, they’re so bloody cute when they’re done! Now, granted, I should probably charge over $100 for the amount of materials and labor put into them, but I don’t. I can’t. That’s another post. But, I think this will definitely be my last batch of glued books in awhile. My fingers are tired of being sticky.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Parkside Harmony permalink
    February 23, 2011 2:20 pm

    Ha! I despise gluing too. Funny though that I really only want to make Coptic Stitch books. I have a pretty good gluing system and a great press so that helps with wrinkles and air bubbles.

    Your baby books are ADORABLE, btw. 🙂

Leave a Reply

