Skip to content

Time Out NY feature

November 30, 2010

A few weeks ago I was contacted by an editor of Time Out NY about being featured in their Holiday Gift Guide come mid-November. I was ecstatic! I’ve never been featured in PRINT before, much less in print in NYC! I didn’t know how big the magazine was. How was I to know? I don’t live in NY, nor am I ‘up’ on what’s hip in the big cities. Let’s be honest. I’m a hermit. With a baby. Who makes books. But, after I let the cat out of the bag to a few friends, I began to realize just HOW BIG it was going to be, and I started freaking out. Commence freaking out.

Now, fast forward to now. The issue hit newsstands Nov 18 and my flask encyclopedia was featured on the front page of the Holiday Gift Guide (not to mention the first hit on the Secret Santa Loot on their website- pictured above). What!? Is this really happening? Can this be true?

Yes, it is. Since then I haven’t been able to keep flask books in stock- all of the flask encyclopedias have sold, and it’s not even December 1st. I’m so honored and so excited to have this feature- to have been recognized and really, I need to take this time to thank my family, who, if it weren’t for them, this truly, honestly wouldn’t be possible:

to Jim, the Love of my life, who stays up late into the wee hours of the morning helping with me with stock numbers, price tags, gluing and who knows what else . . . i Love and thank you

to my parents, who for whatever reason wish to not be named, who help with the creating and preparing of these books, and if it weren’t for them these books truly would not be a reality . . . i Love and thank you

and to my family, and my friends, who support me and tell me they are proud of me and come visit me at shows when I’m alone and bored and twiddling my thumbs during the last (always) uneventful hours . . . i Love and thank you (ALL)

This ride has been amazing, and I really hope it’s only just beginning.

——
Time Out NY has sent me a copy of the magazine that (you know) I will scan in and share as well because, hello, that’s PRESS baby!

🙂

Finally- I was able to scan in the cover and the page I’m featured on in the Time Out New York magazine from Nov 2010.

Time Out NY

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 30, 2010 6:22 pm

    That is SO AWESOME! Congrats on your success!

  2. November 30, 2010 6:38 pm

    Congratulations!!! This is so amazing:)

Leave a Reply

