Skip to content

Linocuts and Cards

August 30, 2010

I’m not really sure what hit me, but I decided to list the cards I’d made awhile ago in my shop (again) and start carving lino again. You know, in all my spare time. I carved a new block the other night after dinner- a simple square camera shape. I Love it. I haven’t used it yet, but I Love it. I Love cameras, so I think that probably goes without saying. I’ll post a picture here in minute (or hour or two). But, I have this issue…

See, unlike a LOT of fellow artists on Etsy and at art shows, I am not a Fine Arts major. I studied English in college, which is why I think making books makes sense to me, but that leaves me without a lot of the professional training when it comes to other art forms (like lino). Don’t get me wrong, I took a book binding class in college and I’m pretty sure I have every Keith Smith book available, so I know what I’m doing when it comes to books; it’s when it comes to anything else, like, say, decorating those books or fluffing my shop with more inexpensive still paper-type items is when I need help.

I started carving lino’s a couple of years ago. I’m not sure why. But I enjoyed it. Enjoy it even. But I get lost when it comes to ‘pulling’ it. I mean, it’s not a ‘stamp’ per se. Technically I think you’re actually supposed to place the paper on top of the lino and not the other way around. I don’t know. Does it work like letterpress? You got me! I mean, what I do works I guess, but I think there’s probably a better way to do it. Maybe?

So, if you know….share;)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

