Skip to content

installation

August 9, 2010

I found something referring to this art installation a few weeks ago and I’ve been wanting to post about it, but simply haven’t found the time. I still don’t really have the time to go into depth about what I think about this installation and the ‘questioning of human need for private space, objects, possessions, and comfort.’ I just find it amazing. And beautiful.

There’s something similar going on at the IMA, here relatively locally, but I TRULY don’t understand what’s going on there, and again, I haven’t had the time to read the entire blog to figure it out;) What I do know though, is that two students are living on a man-made ‘island’ of sorts in the middle of a small pond on IMA property. They give visitors tours and also visitors can send them secret messages in bottles. Which, I think is kinda cool. From the IMA website: “About 20 feet in diameter, the island is fully inhabitable and serves as an experimental living structure that examines the daily needs of contemporary human beings.”

Pretty cool, no?

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 10, 2010 5:34 pm

    WOW. That installation is awesome.

    The Pod thing at the IMA just ended, I believe. I think I just read in NUVO that they finished up their stay. It was two artists, Jessica Dunn and Michael Runge, staying there for the summer and bartering artworks with the visitors in exchange for whatever they were willing to give. They have a blog, but I never got a chance to give it more than a cursory glance.

Leave a Reply

