Skip to content

Meandering Musings

June 17, 2010

It isn’t often that I happen upon a blog that actually doesn’t confuse the heck out of my with a bajillion sidebars and links and other mumbo jumbo. Sorry, but it’s the truth. But today, featuring Gilliauna of Handmade Gift and Shopping Guide (among MANY other things) I found one that kinda tickles my fancy.

Let’s talk about her work though. Because, that’s why we’re here right? And her work is quite beautiful. Gilliauna makes beautiful handcrafted jewelry and accessories. She mostly strives to bring COLOR into your life, and that she does with her Bits n’ Beads. I really enjoy her color combinations in her pieces- ones that I wouldn’t ordinarily think of as working together, but come out quite beautifully. These beaded vintage earrings are a perfect example. I just Love the salmon mixed with the turquoise. Subtle, but perfect. And her shop is just full of colors that Love to be together.

I also adore her beaded bookmarks (of course!). And she doesn’t stop there. She has beaded ID lanyards, charms and zipper pulls, necklaces, chokers, bracelets and cuffs. Her eyeglass chains make you want to be that beautifully nerdy librarian and she offers beautiful rosaries and other religious jewelry. There’s nothing this woman can’t do. AND she takes custom orders!

And you can’t miss her. She’s everywhere, and yet, still so organized. I think that might be what I admire about her the most. First, her main blog, here at Handmade Gift Guide or the Meandering Musings of a Consummate Shopper. She also blogs about her jewelry at Colorful Artisan Jewelry. Then, of course, there are her shops where she sells all her wonderful work: Etsy, Zibbet, 1000 Markets, and Artfire. She also has her own gorgeous site! Other places to find Gilliauna: Facebook, Twitter . . . .and really, there are a million more, but my baby is dying to go to bed so I should head on out for this late Wednesday night.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 1:48 am

    What an absolutely *wonderful* feature!! Thank you SO much for such a wonderful write up and glowing review. *Smile*

  2. talia permalink*
    June 17, 2010 1:50 am

    you are *very* welcome. I truly do adore those eyeglass chains- if only I didn’t wear glasses full time! I’m so happy I found your shop!

  3. June 17, 2010 3:00 am

    Talia,
    You have a gift with words, and you put it to such great use in introducing Gilliauna. As you stated, she is everywhere, so it is more of a deeper understanding than an introduction; but it was getting to know her and her art a little better. I too love the way the color selections are unexpected, but just crying to be blended. Thank you.

  4. naughtymonkeys permalink
    June 17, 2010 4:20 am

    Holy moly, I’m exhausted just from reading about all the stuff she does.

    Meanwhile, I LOVE this line: “Her eyeglass chains make you want to be that beautifully nerdy librarian ….” So funny, and so true, great job!!

  5. ourhometoyours permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:37 pm

    she was, and still is, my inspiration to start my own web page.

Leave a Reply

