Skip to content

Making Book Cloth

April 21, 2010

making book cloth
When I was in college and I took my first Book Arts class (ok, my only Book Arts class) we ordered amazing supplies from places like Talas and Dolphin Papers. For the past *gasp* 10 years, I’ve been using up those amazing supplies and not until very recently did I run out of my beautiful gun metal gray Laval book cloth from Talas. (I used it here on my first baby book!) Now, yes, I could go order more, but there’s something about feeling the book cloth you buy before purchasing, and obviously if the store is in NY, that’s not going to happen anytime soon. And, I’ve sort of been in a time crunch trying to get these baby books done to get them in a certain local store before they change their minds and walk the other way;) So, what that meant is that I needed to create my own book cloth out of soft, beautiful, luscious, and FUN fabric!

And I did. You can see in the photo above the four easy steps it takes to create book cloth. Your very own;) First, pick out some fabric. I chose these four colorful (aside from the gray that is) velvety fabrics from Joann. Second, you need your fabric, your ‘glue medium’ (which in this particular picture I have Steam-A-Seam, but also Heat-N-Bond Lite works as well), and you also need your paper that you’re attaching to the other side of the fabric in order to make it into book cloth: in my case, it’s tissue paper. Then, you simply cut all three of your pieces down to size, and iron for about 20-30 seconds. For me, I could see the frame come through the back of my tissue paper to see if the glue was adhering. And it was. Next, you cut down your sheets to ‘bleed’ and so my finished pieces of book cloth are to the far right. (In my case I used 8 1/2×11 sheets of Steam-A-Seam2, but for next time I have a roll of Heat-N-Bond so I’m guessing I’ll make the cloth bigger- but I didn’t need them any bigger for my use this time around as I’m just using them for spines.)

And here are the (almost) finished books I’m using the book cloth on! I can’t wait to make more! (meaning book cloth!) I spotted some beautiful fabric at Joann’s that I would Love to make into a wedding guest book, so perhaps that’s next on the list;)

Sneak Peak

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 11:16 pm

    I back most of my fabrics for covers rather than buying book cloth – it opens up so many possibilities! I use masa paper and adhere the fabric with pva glue rather than the method you listed above. I’ve experimented with other papers, but masa has been the most successful. Just passing on info – and thanks for sharing your info as well! 🙂

    • talia permalink*
      June 22, 2010 11:25 pm

      Definitely thanks for sharing! I’ve never heard of masa paper before- what is it and where do you purchase it? Do you have any samples of your made book cloth? I’d Love to see it! :

Leave a Reply

