Skip to content

musicality I don’t have

February 18, 2010

You know, I never even realized (until today) that Etsy even has a ‘music’ section. Seriously, how sad is that? I never even thought about it. Is music a craft? Well, certainly it’s a craft in the ‘an art, trade, or occupation requiring special skill, esp. manual skill’ kind of way, so definitely, but it is a craft you sell on Etsy? Hrmm.

Well, not really, because most of the listings under “Music” on Etsy are not really music, but are musically related, which again, I still hadn’t even imagined there would be such a section- otherwise, I would have been searching for Frog’s (my husband) gifts from here years ago. And so it begins, another Etsy obsession that leads us into the poor house.

But, let us proceed. What beauts (is that a word? it doesn’t get underlined so I guess it is, funny though, Etsy gets underlined each and every time) did I find today that deserve my attention, that deserve this feature on this here THIRD week of doing feature’s consistently (can’t you see I’m proud of myself here?)? Let’s start with . . .

Guitar picks from Art of Silver. IF my husband REALLY played guitar, this would so be a gift in his stocking or under the tree or just wrapped in a bow on top of a big chocolate cake; you know, for any occasion. But alas, he simply WON a guitar (or is a bass) from some bar in town after winning a Guitar Hero tournament last year. But, still. Beautiful. The picks are really super cute, and actually you can get them to say just about anything you want. So, if you have a special someone who plays guitar, well, I think you get my point. But, those aren’t the only things of beauty in that store- no, they’re just the tip of the iceberg, so go visit and see what you can find.

Now, let’s continue our journey into the “Music” section shall we?

Guitar straps. There was once a time when I was going to knit my dear Frog some guitar straps for his, well, you know, Guitar Hero guitar, but, then I went and got pregnant and lost the ability to concentrate on anything for more than 5 minutes. Now, these aren’t knit, but damn are they cool! These are at Artifact Handmade Wares and there are so many designs and ‘rad’ fabrics, I can’t even begin to explain. Seriously, Day of the Dead? That’s awesome! Also you can find Japanese and Asian inspired designs with a lot of punk and skull designs too- you know, every musicians favorite;) Now, if only Frog played real guitar I could see getting him a REAL strap;)

And last but not least- a favorite of mine. A few Christmas’ ago our uncle mentioned doing something like this (I think) for grandkids or, I don’t know, I just remember him telling us about it, and honestly, I thought he was crazy. But no, crazy he is not. People are making bowls, like, you know, serving bowls are bowls to put plants into, out of old records! Yes, you heard me right. Isn’t that awesome! I’ve just sort of jumped on the old re-use recycle bandwagon in using old books in my own personal shop, and I’ve thought about using such things like this, but, well, obviously I wouldn’t make a bowl out of it- because HELLO, they do it so well! Well, OddBob does it so well. He has a barrage of different artists to choose from and all sectioned off in beautiful organized, well, sections (Jazz, Rock, 80’s, 90’s, etc). I Love how perfect the bowl is. How perfectly round and smooth it is. Who the actual record is by is hardly a concern as it will be hidden by whatever is stored there, but still, I think it’s a grand idea and I really Love it. I can totally see a few of these sitting around on coffee tables and shelves in much cooler houses than my own;)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 8:19 pm

    I had no idea about the music section either, guess I need to explore Etsy more!!!

    Someone locally here sells bowls and other items made from old records at our farmer’s market. So fascinating the uses people come up with for old things:)

  2. talia permalink*
    February 24, 2010 9:31 pm

    See, I need to get out to the Farmer’s Market more often! 😉

Leave a Reply

