Skip to content

Re-using Materials

December 13, 2009

Some time ago a friend of mine raided her work’s (ok, I’ll say it) garbage can and rescued a TON of vinyl (and other fabric) remnants for drapes, flooring, and wall covering samples. For a very long time I had no clear idea what to use these remnants for. Most of them were too thick to cover book board with easily and were too small to make the kinds of books I was used to making. And then, I opened up my good ole Keith Smith book and looked around at some other kinds of bindings- using soft covers as opposed to hard covers. And well, wouldn’t you know it I found a whole new use for these otherwise ‘trash-able’ items and I couldn’t be more excited.

Two weekends ago (I think) I was part of The INDIEana Handicraft Exchange Holiday Hoopla mini in Indy and while there I received a custom order for a journal made with only graph paper. When I got home I wasn’t sure just how I was going to go about making this journal, what with the (lack of) time I have on my hands lately and Christmas around the corner, I needed the turnaround time of this journal to be QUICK! So, I opted out of the hard cover journal and looked into my vinyl pieces. I took two 5×8 pieces and glued them together first with PVA and then, after pressing for 24 hours, sewed them together on my trusty (unused) sewing machine. After that I sewed the cut graph paper pages in using my new technique (thanks Keith Smith) and voila- New soft cover journals that are too much fun to make.

After that, I wanted/needed to get rid of all this paper sitting around my place. I can’t justify buying new paper until I use all that I have sitting around- so I took some other scraps of the vinyl (I’m not even positive it’s really all vinyl, that’s just the easiest way to describe most of it- a lot of is backed fabric, which makes it GREAT for book covers!) and some typing paper I had sitting around, hand ripped the pages, and used some hemp thread to pamphlet stitch them together. I listed these on Esty today.

Oh, the joys of using what you already have on hand, or what you (or someone else) has pulled from the proverbial garbage can!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kate permalink
    December 14, 2009 8:47 pm

    Talia, these new “vinyl” journals looks insanely professional! Nice work. And way to reuse old stuff.

  2. Nicole permalink
    December 16, 2009 7:13 pm

    nice job! that guy is going to love the journal; i remember his wife saying he usually carries moleskins so he’ll like that these are flexible too. Very nice!

Leave a Reply

