Skip to content

i was off and running

June 23, 2008

I had big dreams ya know. My goal was to have half a dozen or so items finished and ready for shipping (gift wrapped in all their glory with a business card and nice packaging) before I even registered my etsy shop in the first place. But, knowing I would never really get around to it, I went ahead and set up shop, without a product one to sell in it. Also knowing me, I figured once I had the shop up, that would give me the gumption to figure out how to package my wares and the creativity to create some business cards of some sort to send off with them. Well, that was all well and good, until I decided I wanted to make a woodcut stamp with my ‘brand’ on it in order to stamp every item I shipped on outta here.

Let me tell you. I’ve never carved wood. Yes, I’ve carved into chipboard, which is similar, cept chipboard doesn’t have GRAIN, and I’ve never attempted carving/cutting LETTERS out of it either. So, yesterday, I got on my high horse and decided ‘hey, I can do this’ and picked out some wood that had been leftover for whatever reason in our garage, picked up some woodcutting knives.gouges.chisels.deathtraps from the local craft store and started sculpting away.

First, I sliced open the tip of my index finger on my left hand, from holding the wood in it and letting the knife just go haywire. After that bloody mess I decided I wouldn’t hold the wood on my hand, and instead hold it on the table, which then led to the massive hole in the space between my thumb and index finger with a rather large curved instrument. It’s quite deep, but small, so no stitches here, but it’s in such an inconvenient place. It won’t hold a band aid so instead I have this Loverly gauze wrapped half way around my hand securing the fact that I’m a piss poor woodcutter AND an invalid. I can type, but it takes me a fuck of a long time. So, no more woodcutting for me– at least not tiny ass letters in a typewritter and Scriptina font. Stupid stupid stupid.

Then, to add insult to injury, this morning as I was desperately searching for a small band aid to wrap around a knuckle that had been scraped on wood and was bothering me, I hacked off my right ring fingertip with razor blades that are for some reason housed in the same drawer. I have band aids littering both of my hands and can do nothing worthwhile aside from MAYBE make dinner. So sad. I will try to get a book done today, but my guess it that it simply won’t happen. I’m such a dork.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

